Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Stephen Sondheim and Anthony Hopkins among four new honorary fellows of RADA

Stephen Sondheim. Photo: Dave Benett Stephen Sondheim. Photo: Dave Benett
by -

Anthony Hopkins and Stephen Sondheim have been named honorary fellows of RADA.

They are joined by actor Mona Hammond and movement director Francine Watson Coleman.

The four were chosen for their “significant impact and contribution to RADA, to training or to the wider industry”. As part of their roles, they will meet and work with current students.

RADA director Edward Kemp said: “Our new fellows represent a breadth of talent from many different areas of theatre and film, but all have made a significant contribution to our industry and to drama training at RADA and beyond.”

The drama school revived the tradition of fellows last year, appointing producer Thelma Holt, voice coach Cicely Berry and actor Glenda Jackson. Until then, the only fellow was John Gielgud, who was given the title in 1989.

West End’s Queen’s Theatre to be renamed after Stephen Sondheim

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.