Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Final winners of The Stage Edinburgh Awards 2019 announced

Sophie Melville and Nigel Barrett in Pops by Charlotte Josephine. Photo: The Other Richard Sophie Melville and Nigel Barrett in Pops by Charlotte Josephine. Photo: The Other Richard
by -

The final winners of The Stage Edinburgh Awards 2019 have been announced, with four new prizes handed out.

They go to Nigel Barrett and Sophie Melville for Pops at Assembly, Caroline Horton for All of Me at Summerhall and Lee Sang-hee for Macbeth at C South.

Barrett and Melville played a father and daughter in Charlotte Josephine’s play Pops, about which The Stage reviewer Fergus Morgan said: “Barrett and Melville tackle depression and alcoholism from different angles. Barrett’s hollow cheeriness painful to watch. Melville is achingly awake to her issues. They dovetail perfectly – two desperately sad performances in a painful play.”

Pops review at Assembly Roxy, Edinburgh – ‘devastatingly downbeat’

Melville previously won an Edinburgh award from The Stage in 2015, for Iphigenia in Splott.

Meanwhile, Horton, recognised for her performance in All of Me, which she also wrote, is now the recipient of three The Stage Edinburgh awards – she has previously won in 2012 and 2010.

All of Me review at Summerhall, Edinburgh – ‘astonishing and overwhelming’

The Stage’s reviews editor Natasha Tripney said: “Horton gives a phenomenal performance in her wrenching show about mental distress, exposed and yet controlled, expansive yet vulnerable.”

The fourth winner is South Korean actor Lee Sang-hee, who earned the award for her performance in Cho-in Theatre’s Macbeth. In the production, Lee alternates the roles of Macbeth and Lady Macbeth.

Macbeth review at C South, Edinburgh – ‘an extraordinary physical performance’

The Stage critic Rosemary Waugh said Lee “expresses the ecstasies and agonies of the possessed Macbeth through every inch of her body”.

“There’s probably as much thought going into how her big toe is moving as her facial muscles. It’s an intensely physical performance that’s brilliantly funny, delightfully playful and then, unexpectedly moving,” she added.

The Stage Edinburgh Awards are given out weekly at the fringe, celebrating outstanding performances. Other winners this year have included Richard Gadd, Dael Orlandersmith, Alice Vilanculo and Breffni Holahan.


We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.