ao link

Edinburgh Awards

11:00 - 23:00

The Stage Edinburgh Awards recognise outstanding theatre performances at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. They are awarded throughout August and winners can be individual performers or entire ensembles.

Previous award winners include Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Jade Anouka, Julie Hesmondhalgh, Monica Dolan, Rash Dash and Daniel Kitson.

Awards Step

About the awards

Established in 1995, The Stage Edinburgh Awards have developed a reputation for spotting excellence at the Edinburgh Fringe and signalling the year’s hottest shows. The awards are a clear marker of quality and are used by both the public and producers in Edinburgh, with winning shows going on to tour the UK and transfer to the West End.


Unlike other awards, there are no set categories and no limit to the number of awards that can be given – they are simply awarded to performers and productions the judging panel feel are deserving. The awards are presented at the end of winning performances, with winners also invited to celebrate at The Stage Edinburgh Party.


All shows covered by The Stage’s Edinburgh reviews team during the festival are eligible. If you have won an award or your show has been reviewed by The Stage find useful information for your promotional materials here.



Sponsorship opportunities are available for The Stage Edinburgh Awards, and provide a great platform to support theatre talent as well as give exposure for your brand to a young and creative audience.


View the sponsorship pack here. For full information please contact janice[@]

Previous winners

2019 winners included:

  • Nigel Barrett and Sophie Melville for Pops at Assembly Roxy
  • Richard Gadd for Baby Reindeer at Summerhall
  • Breffni Holahan for Collapsible at Assembly Roxy
  • Caroline Horton for All of Me at Summerhall
  • Shauna Macdonald and Angus Taylor for Mouthpiece at Traverse Theatre
  • Dael Orlandersmith for Until the Flood at the Traverse
  • Lee Sang-hee for Macbeth at C South
  • Alice Vilanculo for E8 at Pleasance Dome

2018 winners included:

The Stage
© Copyright The Stage Media Company Limited 2021
Linked In