- The Stage - https://www.thestage.co.uk -

Winners of the Olwen Wymark awards 2019 announced

Greyscale Theatre artistic director Selma Dimitrijevic is among the winners of this year's awards. Photo: Mark Savage

Winners of the Olwen Wymark awards 2019, which recognise theatre figures for their support of new writing, have been announced.

Artist and producer Alia Alzougbi is among the winners, nominated by writer Hannah Khalil [1] for championing her work.

Director Kate Budgen [2]and dramaturg Sarah Dickinson were also jointly recognised for their support of Writers’ Guild of Great Britain [3] member Samantha Potter’s play Metcalfe and Sons.

Artistic director of Greyscale Theatre Company Selma Dimitrijevic [4]received an award for her support for D/deaf and disabled playwrights in the UK.

Meanwhile, former secretary and current member of the Player Playwrights [5] group Peter Thompson, and actor, director, writer and teacher Martin Cort were also among the winners.

David James, who set up the awards with playwright Mark Ravenhill [6], was also given an award.

James, who runs new musicals development programme Book, Music and Lyrics [7], was nominated by WGGB member Evi Stamatiou [8] for his support in helping to develop her musical theatre writing.

Speaking as organiser of the awards and on behalf of the WGGB James said: “The award was set up to make a statement of how important encouragement is, and is based on the simple premise of saying thank you.”

“Now in its 14th year, it is a bright spot on the Writers’ Guild  annual calendar.”

Director John Retallack and Northern Broadsides’ Sue Andrews honoured at Olwen Wymark awards [9]