Get our free email newsletter with just one click

James Tait Black drama prize announces 2018 shortlist

The cast of Anatomy of a Suicide at the Royal Court, London. Photo: Stephen Cummiskey The cast of Anatomy of a Suicide, by nominated playwright Alice Birch, at the Royal Court, London. Photo: Tristram Kenton
by -

Playwrights Alice Birch, Tanika Gupta, Gary McNair and Linda McLean have been nominated for the James Tait Black Prize for Drama.

The £10,000 playwriting prize was introduced in 2012 as a drama branch of historic literary awards the James Tait Black Prizes. It is run by the University of Edinburgh.

Birch’s Anatomy of a Suicide, which ran at London’s Royal Court, is shortlisted alongside Lions and Tigers by Gupta, which ran at Shakespeare’s Globe.

Locker Room Talk by McNair and McLean’s Glory on Earth were produced by Edinburgh theatres the Traverse and the Lyceum respectively.

The winner will be announced at a ceremony held on August 20, during the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. It is judged by a panel that includes students and academics from the University of Edinburgh, representatives from the Traverse, the Playwright’s Studio Scotland, the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland and the Schaubuhne in Berlin.

Previous winners include David Ireland’s Cyprus Avenue and Gary Owen’s Iphigenia in Splott.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.