Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Alice Birch wins $25k Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

Alice Birch has won the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize for Anatomy of a Suicide
by -

Alice Birch has won the 2018 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize for her play Anatomy of a Suicide.

It was the third time the British playwright had been nominated for the $25,000 (£17,988) annual award, and follows nods for Many Moons and Revolt. She Said. Revolt Again.

Birch’s winning play, Anatomy of a Suicide, premiered last year at London’s Royal Court, directed by Katie Mitchell.

Anatomy of a Suicide review at Royal Court, London – ‘full of pain and strange beauty’

She was one of nine finalists for the prize, which celebrates female playwrights writing in the English language.

Fellow British nominees included Elinor Cooke for Out of Love and Nina Raine for Consent. Other shortlisted writers included the Irish playwright Fiona Doyle for The Strange Death of John Doe, Antoinette Nwandu for Pass Over and Tori Sampson for If Pretty Hurts Ugly Must Be a Muhfucka.

All shortlisted writers receive an award of $5,000 (£3,597)

The Susan Smith Blackburn Prize is now in its 14th year and was founded in memory of the American actor and writer Susan Smith Blackburn, who died in 1977.

Previous winners include Clare Barron for Dance Nation, which runs at the Almeida later this year, Annie Baker for The Flick and Lynn Nottage’s Sweat, which also won the Pulitzer prize for drama last year. In total, 10 finalists of the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize have gone on to win the same accolade.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.