Get our free email newsletter with just one click

The Stage Debut Awards 2017: the winners in full

Norah Lopez Holden and Abraham Popoola in Othello at Tobacco Factory, Bristol
by -

Best Actor in a Play

Winner: Abraham Popoola for Othello at Tobacco Factory Theatres, Bristol

Also nominated:
Jack Archer for Nivelli’s War at the Lyric Theatre, Belfast
TJ Jones for The Seven Acts of Mercy at the Swan Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon
Kenneth Omole for Assata Taught Me at the Gate Theatre, London

Best Actress in a Play

Winner: Grace Molony for The Country Girls at the Minerva Theatre, Chichester

Also nominated:
Anya Chalotra for Much Ado About Nothing at Shakespeare’s Globe, London
Kellan Frankland for The House of Bernarda Alba at the Royal Exchange, Manchester
Jess Peet for Alice in Wonderland at the Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh

Best Actor in a Musical

Winner: Samuel Thomas for Allegro at Southwark Playhouse, London

Also nominated:
Adam J Bernard for Dreamgirls at the Savoy Theatre, London
Ben Hunter for The Girls at the Phoenix Theatre, London
Daniel Urch for 110 in the Shade at Ye Olde Rose and Crown, London

Best Actress in a Musical

Winner: Miriam-Teak Lee for On the Town at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre, London

Also nominated:
Chloe Carrington for Hair at Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester
Emily Hughes for Fiddler on the Roof at Everyman Theatre, Liverpool
Siena Kelly for On the Town at Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre, London

Best Director

Winner: Lekan Lawal for Betrayal at Derby Theatre, Derby

Also nominated:
Sean Aydon for Richard III at the Rosemary Branch, London
Alexander Lass for 46 Beacon at Trafalgar Studios 2, London
Lynette Linton for Assata Taught Me at the Gate Theatre, London

Best Designer

Winner: Rosie Elnile for The Convert at the Gate Theatre, London

Also nominated:
Joshua Gadsby for Dreamplay at the Vaults, London
Simon Spencer for The Tempest, RSC
Jessica Staton for Extra Yarn at the Orange Tree Theatre, London

Best Composer

Winner: Dan Gillespie Sells for Everybody’s Talking About Jamie at the Crucible Theatre, Sheffield

Also nominated:
Jonah Brody for Removal Men at the Yard, London
Ruth Chan for Snow in Midsummer at the Swan Theatre, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stephen Jackson for Roller Diner at the Soho Theatre, London

Best Writer

Winner: Katherine Soper for Wish List at the Royal Exchange, Manchester, and Royal Court, London

Also nominated:
Titas Halder for Run the Beast Down at the Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury and Finborough Theatre, London
Asif Khan for Combustion at Tara Arts, London
Victoria Willing for Spring Offensive at the Clapham Omnibus, London

The Joe Allen Best West End Debut

Winner: Andrew Polec for Bat Out of Hell at the London Coliseum

Also nominated:
John Boyega for Woyzeck at the Old Vic
Anthony Boyle for Harry Potter and the Cursed Child at the Palace Theatre
Andy Karl for Groundhog Day at the Old Vic
Audra McDonald for Lady Day at Emerson’s Bar and Grill at Wyndham’s Theatre
Imogen Poots for Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? at the Harold Pinter Theatre
Amber Riley for Dreamgirls at the Savoy Theatre
Charlie Stemp for Half a Sixpence at the Noel Coward Theatre

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.