Soho Theatre announces shortlist for 2017 Verity Bargate Award

Soho Theatre, London. Photo: Johnny Birch
by -

The shortlist for the 2017 Verity Bargate playwriting award has been announced.

For its 16th year, the competition – run by London’s Soho Theatre – has partnered with television production company Character 7 for an additional award that will offer its winner the opportunity to develop their storytelling skills for TV.

The playwrights shortlisted for the main award are Patrick Russell, Dylan Coburn Gray, Karen Cogan, Jennifer Lunn, Titas Halder and Frazer Flintham.

The biennial playwriting prize, named after Soho Theatre’s co-founder, is open to writers who have had fewer than three professional productions. The winner receives £7,000 in respect of an exclusive option for Soho Theatre to produce their play.

Plays by Nessah Muthy, Sonali Bhattacharyya and Ifeyinwa Frederick have been nominated for the Character 7 prize, selected from the Verity Bargate longlist.

The winners will be announced at an event on October 27, when excerpts from the six nominated plays will be performed.

This year’s judging panel includes actor and writer Meera Syal, Shakespeare’s Globe artistic director Emma Rice and Character 7’s executive chairman Stephen Garrett.

The event will also announce the winner of the Tony Craze Award, previously the Soho Young Writers’ Award.

The shortlist in full

Verity Bargate Award

  • Antlers by Patrick Russell
  • City Song by Dylan Coburn Gray
  • Drip Feed by Karen Cogan
  • Es and Flo by Jennifer Lunn
  • Hegemon Speak by Titas Halder
  • The Life of Stancliffe Riley by Frazer Flintham

Character 7 in conjunction prize

  • Deepa the Saint by Sonali Bhattacharyya
  • Sucker by Nessah Muthy
  • The Hoes by Ifeyinwa Frederick

Tony Craze Award

  • Antlers by Patrick Russell
  • Soft Animals by Holly Robinson
  • The Funeral Director by Iman Qureshi
  • The Hoes by Ifeyinwa Frederick
  • Wind Bit Bitter, Bit Bit Bit Her by Sami Ibrahim