Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Jack Thorne and Vinay Patel win at Royal Television Society Awards 2017

hoebe Waller-Bridge in BBC3’s Fleabag, which she both writes and stars in, and which started life as a one-woman fringe show. Photo: BBC/Two Brothers Pictures Ltd Phoebe Waller-Bridge in BBC3’s Fleabag. Photo: BBC/Two Brothers Pictures
by -

Playwrights Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Jack Thorne and Vinay Patel were all winners at this year’s Royal Television Society Awards.

Waller-Bridge took home the breakthrough and best comedy prizes for her series Fleabag, adapted from her 2013 play.

It was announced last week that the series would be renewed for a second season.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child playwright Thorne picked up best miniseries for his Channel 4 drama National Treasure, with Robbie Coltrane named best male actor for his portrayal of a celebrity accused of historic sex offences.

BBC3’s Murdered By My Father, which tells the story of an honour killing of an Asian teenage girl, earned Patel the award for single drama.

Other winners included police drama Happy Valley, which won best drama series while its writer Sally Wainwright was named best drama writer. Julie Walters won a lifetime achievement award.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.