Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Lin-Manuel Miranda and Cate Blanchett among 2017 Evening Standard Theatre Awards hosts

Lin-Manuel Miranda. Photo: Tinseltown/Shutterstock Lin-Manuel Miranda. Photo: Tinseltown/Shutterstock
by -

Cate Blanchett, Lin-Manuel Miranda and Anna Wintour have been announced as co-hosts of this year’s London Evening Standard Theatre Awards, alongside the paper’s owner Evgeny Lebedev.

The annual awards ceremony is in its 63rd year and takes place on December 3, at a venue yet to be announced.

Lebedev and American Vogue editor Wintour – whose father once edited the Evening Standard – will be the main hosts for the ceremony, with Blanchett and Miranda, the creator of Hamilton.

Writer and actor Phoebe Waller-Bridge will introduce the individual awards on the night.

This year the awards will comprise 10 prizes including best actor and actress and accolades for directing, designing, writing and individual productions.

The publicly voted Radio 2 Audience Award for best musical returns for a third year, while the list also includes an emerging talent award and the Lebedev award, given by the proprietor to a performer, writer, director or institution.

The best revival category is not on the list for 2017, not are the Beyond Theatre award and the editor’s award.

Introducing the 2017 line-up, Lebedev said: “If all the world’s a stage, as a playwright once said, no city across that world matches London for the range, vibrancy and global reach of its theatre. Each year, our awards, recognise and reward the effort, invention and scintillating talent that sustains this pre-eminence.”

Nominations will be announced in November.