Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Actor, stand-up comedian and screenwriter among Bruntwood Prize nominees

Bruntwood Prize shortlist 2017: Alan McKendrick, Archie Maddox, Daniel Foxsmith, Josh Val Martin, Kevin Doyle, Laurie Nunn, Rebecca Callard, Sharon Clark, Tim Foley and Tim X Atack
by -

The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting has announced its shortlist for the first time in its 11-year history.

Actor Rebecca Callard and screenwriter Laurie Nunn are among those to have made the final 10 in the competition.

The 10 shortlisted scripts were selected from 1,898 original plays submitted for the 2017 prize, and each play is entered anonymously.

Scripts which made the shortlist include stand-up comedian Archie Maddocks’ A Place for We, and a work by Sharon Clark, creative director of immersive theatre company Raucous, about an African-American woman on a pilgrimage across the US to where her husband and son died.

Writer and director Joshua Val Martin’s This Is Not America, about a third-generation Libyan immigrant living in Blackpool, was also selected as one of the top 10 entries.

The other finalists include Glasgow-based writer, director and translator Alan McKendrick, playwright and director Kevin Doyle, composer and designer Timothy X Atack, Pentabus Theatre associate artist Tim Foley and actor and founder of Snuff Box Theatre Daniel Foxsmith.

A panel of industry figures, including director Lyndsey Turner, Manchester Royal Exchange associate director Matthew Xia and actor Alfred Enoch, chose a winner from the final ten while they were still anonymous.

The biennial prize is a partnership between the Royal Exchange Theatre and property company Bruntwood. The total prize fund is £40,000 and each winner will enter into a development process with the Royal Exchange Theatre.

Kate Vokes, director of culture at Bruntwood, said: “Innovative and ambitious cultural activity is at the heart of any vibrant community and we are very proud of the way the Bruntwood Prize has grown over the years, nurturing individual talent and the stories they tell.

“We look forward to celebrating with all the finalists at the awards ceremony and following their careers for many years to come.”

Four winning scripts will be announced at a ceremony hosted by BBC presenter Naga Munchetty on November 13 at the Royal Exchange.

The competition is open to anyone over the age of 16 who has not previously won the Bruntwood Prize.

Watch a video introducing the 2017 nominees here:

Meet the Shortlist from Royal Exchange Theatre on Vimeo.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.