- The Stage - https://www.thestage.co.uk -

Malcolm Sinclair re-elected for fourth term as Equity president

Malcolm Sinclair has been re-elected as president of Equity for a fourth term, with performers Tanya Moodie and Summer Strallen joining as new council members.

The union said 11 candidates had been elected for the first time, and that the new council was its most diverse, with four black, Asian and minority ethnic members part of the make-up.

Other new council members include performer Sandra Marvin.

Sinclair [1] beat Jean Rogers and Dave Eager to remain as president, with 2,311 votes to Rogers’ 1,542 and Eager’s 494.

In total, 4,458 ballot papers were received for the election, representing an 11% turnout. The union said this was down on the last election two years ago.

Strallen received 1,605 votes, with Moodie picking up 1,742 and Sandra Marvin getting the backing of 1,126 members.

Other new council members include Emmanuel Kojo, who takes the minority ethnic members seat, with 2,384 votes.

The new council will meet for the first time on July 19.

The full list of elected members can be found here [2]