Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Censorship work wins Theatre Book Prize 2016

Sian Phillips presents Steve Nicholson with the Theatre Book Prize. Photo: Vicki Holland Sian Phillips presents Steve Nicholson with the Theatre Book Prize. Photo: Vicki Holland
by -

A book about censorship in British drama has won this year’s Theatre Book Prize.

The award, which honours books from the previous year, went to The Censorship of British Drama 1900-1968 by Steve Nicholson. It was based on files from the Lord Chamberlain’s office based in the British Library.

Colin Chambers, former literary manager of the Royal Court in London, described the winning book as a “detailed account” of how theatre and society interact, seen through the “prism of censorship”.

Chambers was a judge for the award alongside Sam Walters, former artistic director of the Orange Tree in London, and Sarah Hemming, theatre critic at the Financial Times.

The book beat 1606: William Shakespeare and the Year of Lear by James Shapiro, Howard Barker’s Theatre: Wrestling with Catastrophe, edited by James Reynolds and Andy W Smith, Simon Callow’s Orson Welles: One Man Band, and John Osborne: ‘Anger is Not About…’ by Peter Whitebrook.

Sian Phillips presented the prize at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.