Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Director Jamie Lloyd to judge Stephen Sondheim award

Jamie Lloyd. Photo: Johan Persson Jamie Lloyd. Photo: Johan Persson
by -

Elaine Paige, Laura Pitt-Pulford and director Jamie Lloyd are to judge this year’s Stephen Sondheim Society student performer of the year award.

They will be joined by conductor John Wilson and broadcaster Edward Seckerson.

The ceremony, on May 17 at the Garrick Theatre, London, will be hosted by Michael Xavier and will see each student perform a Sondheim number, as well as a new musical theatre song. These new songs, written by members of Mercury Musicals Development, will also qualify for the Stiles and Drewe best new song prize. This prize will be judged by song writing team George Stiles and Anthony Drewe, alongside Pippa Cleary and Jake Brunger, writers of the musical of The Secret Diary of Adrian Mole Aged 13 3/4.

At the event, Paige will also perform I’m Still Here from Follies.

The competition, now in its ninth year, sees both the student performer winner and the writer of the best new song receive £1,000. A total of 12 students will compete on the night, singing songs from shows including Into the Woods and Passion.

The event is produced by Martin Jackson and Victoria Saxton for MMD, and Craig Glenday for the Stephen Sondheim Society.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.