Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Cumberbatch and Greig lead TV BAFTA nods

Benedict Cumberbatch and Tamsin Greig are both up for BAFTA TV awards. Photo: Victoria Erdelevskaya/J Brooks Benedict Cumberbatch and Tamsin Greig are both up for BAFTA TV awards. Photo: Victoria Erdelevskaya/J Brooks
by -

Benedict Cumberbatch and Tamsin Greig have both been recognised in the British Academy Television Awards nominations.

Happy Valley, The Missing, Line of Duty and Marvellous lead the award nominations – better known as the BAFTA TV awards – with each show picking up three nods.

Cumberbatch is nominated for best actor for his role in Sherlock, and will compete with Toby Jones for Marvellous, James Nesbitt for The Missing and Jason Watkins for The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies.

In the BAFTA TV awards best actress category, Happy Valley’s Sarah Lancashire goes up against Keeley Hawes for Line of Duty, Sheridan Smith for Cilla and Georgina Campbell for Murdered By My Boyfriend.

James Norton and Adeel Akhtar are up for best supporting actor alongside Stephen Rea and Ken Stott, while the nods for best supporting actress went to Charlotte Spencer, Gemma Jones, Amanda Redman and Vicky McClure.

Happy Valley and The Missing are both nominated for best drama series alongside Peaky Blinders and Line of Duty, while the prize for best single drama will be contested by Marvellous, Murdered By My Boyfriend, Common and A Poet in New York.

Elsewhere, Greig – who is currently starring in Women on the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown in the West End – is nominated for best female performance in a comedy for her role in Episodes, and will compete with Catherine Tate, Olivia Colman and Jessica Hynes.

Matt Berry is nominated for his role as an eccentric actor in Toast of London and goes up against Hugh Bonneville, Tom Hollander and Brendan O’Carroll for best male performance in a comedy.

Nominated for best scripted comedy are The Wrong Mans, Moone Boy, Detectorists and Harry and Paul’s Story of the Twos.

The awards will be presented during a ceremony at the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane in London on May 10.

The full list of nominations is below.

Leading actor

Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock – BBC1
Toby Jones – Marvellous – BBC2
James Nesbitt – The Missing – BBC1
Jason Watkins – The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies – ITV

Leading actress

Georgina Campbell – Murdered By My Boyfriend – BBC3
Keeley Hawes – Line of Duty – BBC2
Sarah Lancashire – Happy Valley – BBC1
Sheridan Smith – Cilla – ITV

Supporting actor

Adeel Akhtar – Utopia – Channel 4
James Norton – Happy Valley – BBC1
Stephen Rea – The Honourable Woman – BBC2
Ken Stott – The Missing – BBC1

Supporting actress

Gemma Jones – Marvellous – BBC2
Vicky McClure – Line of Duty – BBC2
Amanda Redman – Tommy Cooper: Not Like That, Like This – ITV
Charlotte Spencer – Glue – E4

Female performance in a comedy programme

Olivia Colman – Rev – BBC2
Tamsin Greig – Episodes – BBC2
Jessica Hynes – W1A – BBC2
Catherine Tate – Catherine Tate’s Nan – BBC1

Male performance in a comedy programme

Matt Berry – Toast of London – Channel 4
Hugh Bonneville – W1A – BBC2
Tom Hollander – Rev – BBC2
Brendan O’Carroll – Mrs Brown’s Boys, Christmas Special – BBC1

Single drama

A Poet in New York – Aisling Walsh, Ruth Caleb, Andrew Davies, Griff Rhys Jones – Modern Television/BBC2
Common – Jimmy McGovern, David Blair, Colin McKeown, Donna Molloy – LA Productions/BBC1
Marvellous – Peter Bowker, Julian Farino, Katie Swinden, Patrick Spence – Fifty Fathoms/BBC2
Murdered By My Boyfriend – Pier Wilkie, Regina Moriarty, Paul Andrew Williams, Darren Kemp – BBC/BBC3


Cilla – Jeff Pope, Paul Whittington, Kwadjo Dajan, Robert Willis – ITV Studios/GroupM Entertainment/ITV
The Lost Honour of Christopher Jefferies – Gareth Neame, Peter Morgan, Roger Michell, Kevin Loader – Carnival Film and Television/Free Range Films/ITV
Our World War – production team – BBC Factual/BBC3
Prey – Chris Lunt, Nicola Shindler, Tom Sherry, Nick Murphy – Red Production Company/ITV

Drama series

Happy Valley – Sally Wainwright, Karen Lewis, Euros Lyn, Nicola Shindler – Red Production Company/BBC1
Line of Duty – production team – World Productions/BBC2
The Missing – Charlie Pattinson, Willow Grylls, Jack Williams, Harry Williams – New Pictures/BBC1
Peaky Blinders – production team – Caryn Mandabach Productions/Tiger Aspect Productions/BBC2

Soap and continuing drama

Casualty – production team – BBC Drama Production Wales/BBC1
Coronation Street – production team – ITV Studios/ITV
Eastenders – production team – BBC Drama Production London/BBC1
Hollyoaks – Bryan Kirkwood, Iain MacLeod, Emily Gascoigne, Hannah Sowden – Lime Pictures/Channel 4


The Good Wife – production team – CBS Television Studios/Scott Free/King Size Prods/More4
House of Cards – Beau Willimon, David Fincher, Joshua Donen, Kevin Spacey – Donen/Fincher/Roth And Trigger Street Productions, Inc/Media Rights Capital/Netflix
Orange Is the New Black – Jenji Kohan, Lisa I Vinnecour, Sara Hess, Sian Heder – Lionsgate Television/Netflix
True Detective – Nic Pizzolatto, Cary Joji Fukunaga, Scott Stephens, Steve Golin – HBO Entertainment/Neon Black, Anonymous Content, Parliament of Owls and Passenger/Sky Atlantic

Scripted comedy

Detectorists – production team – Channel X North and Lola Entertainment/BBC4
Harry and Paul’s Story of the Twos – Harry Enfield, Paul Whitehouse, Ed Bye, Bradley Adams – Balloon Entertainment/BBC2
Moone Boy – Chris O’Dowd, Nick Vincent Murphy, Ted Dowd, Ian Fitzgibbon – Baby Cow Productions/Hot Cod/Sprout Pictures/Grand Pictures/Sky1
The Wrong Mans – Jim Field Smith, Mathew Baynton, James Corden – BBC Comedy/Hulu/BBC2

Radio Times audience award (voted for by members of the public)

Game of Thrones
The Great British Bake Off
The Missing
Strictly Come Dancing

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.