Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Winners of Bristol Old Vic’s Peter O’Toole Prize announced

Peter O'Toole prize-winner Jonathan Charles in rehearsal for Juno and the Paycock at Liverpool Playhouse. Photo: Brian Roberts.
by -

Bristol Old Vic has revealed the winners of its annual Peter O’Toole Prize for actors.

The prize is awarded to exceptional actors graduating from the Bristol Old Vic Theatre School, who are awarded professional contracts with the company.

This year’s winners are Jonathan Charles, Millie Corser and Bethan Nash.

Formerly known as the Patron’s Prize, the award was renamed this year in honour of O’Toole, who launched his career at Bristol Old Vic, and who died in 2013.

Charles is currently appearing in Bristol Old Vic’s co-production of Juno and the Paycock at the Liverpool Playhouse, while Corser and Nash will make their professional debuts in the company’s restaging of Swallows and Amazons this Christmas.