Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Leicester’s Curve backs new musicals with support for S and S Award

Nikolai Foster, incoming artistic director of Curve, which is backing this year's S and S Award.
by -

Leicester’s Curve has made moves to cement its reputation as the home of new British musicals, by signing up to develop the winning show of the S and S Award.

The award is presented annually to the best unproduced musical of the year, which for 2014 has been named as Stay Awake, Jake, by Tim Gilvin.

Curve has been announced as the “host venue” for developing the show, following incoming artistic director Nikolai Foster’s announcement earlier this year that he intends to make Curve the home for new British musicals.

This year’s prize will be presented at a gala performance on November 23 at the St James Theatre, hosted by David Bedella.

Nigel Harman will present the award and excerpts from the winning show will be performed by a cast including Julie Atherton.

Excerpts from two highly-commended shows – Jabberwocky by Rebecca Applin and Susannah Pearse, and Van Winkle – a folk musical by Caroline Wigmore – will also be performed.

The gala is being directed by Simon Greiff, with musical direction by Richard Bates.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.