Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Gillian Anderson and Scottsboro Boys score Young Vic a double win at Evening Standard Theatre Awards

Gillian Anderson and Tom Hiddleston at the 60th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards. Photo: Evening Standard
by -

Gillian Anderson scooped the best actress prize at the 60th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards, while The Scottsboro Boys was named best musical – securing a double win for the Young Vic.

Anderson received the award for her turn as Blanche in the theatre’s production of A Streetcar Named Desire, seeing off competition from Kristin Scott Thomas, Billie Piper, Tanya Moodie and Helen McCrory.

The Scottsboro Boys, also a Young Vic production, won the best musical prize over Sunny Afternoon, Here Lies Love and Dogfight. While it missed out on the best musical prize, Here Lies Love won a special ‘Beyond Theatre’ award for “pushing the boundaries of the musical”.

Tom Hiddleston beat both Mark Strong and Ben Miles to be named best actor for his titular role in Coriolanus at the Donmar Warehouse, and was presented with the award by Helen Mirren – whose best actress win at last year’s awards caused claims of vote-rigging.

The best play award went to Rona Munro’s The James Plays, while Jeremy Herrin was named best director for Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies at the RSC Swan and Aldwych theatres.

Meanwhile, Laura Jane Matthewson was presented with the emerging talent award for her performance in Dogfight at Southwark Playhouse, and Beth Steel scooped the most promising playwright award for Wonderland at the Hampstead Theatre.

Tom Stoppard was named the greatest living playwright in a special award presented by Benedict Cumberbatch, while the Stephen Daldry-directed Skylight at the Wyndham’s Theatre won a prize for revival of the year.

Carey Mulligan, who starred in Skylight, presented the best design award to Es Devlin for her work on American Psycho at the Almeida Theatre.

The awards were announced at the London Palladium in a ceremony presented by Steve Coogan and Rob Brydon.

The full list of winners and nominations is as follows:

Best actress
Gillian Anderson for A Streetcar Named Desire, Young Vic – WINNER
Helen McCrory for Medea, National Theatre’s Olivier
Tanya Moodie for Intimate Apparel, Ustinov Bath and Park Theatre
Billie Piper for Great Britain, National Theatre’s Lyttelton
Kristin Scott Thomas for Electra, Old Vic

Best actor
Tom Hiddleston for Coriolanus, Donmar Warehouse – WINNER
Ben Miles for Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, RSC Swan and Aldwych
Mark Strong for A View from the Bridge, Young Vic

Best play
The James Plays by Rona Munro at Edinburgh Festival Theatre and National Theatre’s Olivier – WINNER
Intimate Apparel by Lynn Nottage at the Ustinov Bath and Park Theatre
King Charles III by Mike Bartlett at the Almeida and Wyndham’s
The Nether by Jennifer Haley at the Royal Court

Best musical
The Scottsboro Boys, Young Vic and Garrick – WINNER
Dogfight at Southwark Playhouse
Here Lies Love, National Theatre’s Dorfman
Sunny Afternoon, Hampstead and Harold Pinter Theatre

Best director
Jeremy Herrin for Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies, RSC Swan and the Aldwych – WINNER
Stephen Daldry for Skylight, Wyndham’s
Yaël Farber for The Crucible, Old Vic
Ivo van Hove for A View from the Bridge, Young Vic

Emerging talent award
Laura Jane Matthewson for her performance in Dogfight, Southwark Playhouse – WINNER
Matthew Beard for his performance in Skylight, Wyndham’s
John Dagleish for his performance in Sunny Afternoon, Hampstead and Harold Pinter Theatre
Robert Hastie for his direction of My Night With Reg, Donmar Warehouse

Best design
Es Devlin for American Psycho, Almeida – WINNER
Bunny Christie for Emil and the Detectives, National Theatre’s Olivier
Mark Henderson (Lighting designer) for Kate Bush’s Before the Dawn, Eventim Apollo
Ashley Martin-Davis for Wonderland, Hampstead

Most promising playwright
Beth Steel for Wonderland, Hampstead – WINNER
Barney Norris for Visitors, Arcola
Dan O’Brien for The Body of an American, Northampton Royal and Derngate, and Gate Notting Hill

Lebedev award for greatest living playwright
Tom Stoppard

Editor’s award for a new high in music performance
Kate Bush for Before the Dawn

Beyond Theatre award for pushing the boundaries of the musical
Here Lies Love, National Theatre’s Dorfman

Revival of the Year
Skylight, Wyndham’s

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.