Get our free email newsletter with just one click

First winners of The Stage Awards from Edinburgh Fringe revealed

Benny Young has been named as one of the first winners of The Stage Awards for Acting Excellence at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.
by -

Performers Benny Young and Olwen Fouere have been announced as the winners of the first round of The Stage Awards for Acting Excellence at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Young was recognised for his performance in Unfaithful by Owen McCafferty, and Fouere for her turn in Riverrun, which she also wrote.

Both shows are staged at the Traverse Theatre.

The Stage Awards are in their 20th year and recognise superb performances on the fringe.

Olwen Fouere, winner of The Stage Awards for Acting Excellence for Riverrun at the Traverse.

More awards will be announced throughout the festival.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.