Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Peter Moffat and David Edgar win at Writers’ Guild awards

by -

Screenwriter Peter Moffat and playwright David Edgar were among the winners at this year’s Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards.

Moffat won in the best TV drama series category for Silk, shown on the BBC, while Edgar was presented a special prize for his contribution to writing and writers.

Edgar’s prize was presented by Billy Elliot writer Lee Hall, who said: “Because of his preeminent work as a dramatist, groundbreaking innovation as a teacher, indefatigable labours as a trade unionist, and for his profound dramaturgical intellect, he is a hero to my generation of writers.”

Other winners at the awards included the writing team of Coronation Street, which was named best continuing drama, and Elly Brewer, who won the award for best children’s TV script for The Dumping Ground.

Best TV comedy went to Jo Brand, Vicki Pepperdine and Joanna Scanlan for the BBC comedy Getting On.

The radio drama award went to David Pownall for Tennyson and Edison, and the radio comedy award went to Susan Calman for Susan Calman is Convicted.

Meanwhile, Philip Osment won in the best play for younger audiences section for his work Whole, and the best play prize was awarded to Owen McCafferty for Quietly.