Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Olivia Colman and Sherlock win at Royal Television Society awards

by -

Olivia Colman has been named best actress at this year’s Royal Television Society awards.

Colman beat Sheridan Smith and Anne Marie Duff to win the actress prize for her part in Accused II on BBC1.

Overall, the BBC won 18 prizes out of 28 at the event, which was held last night at Grosvenor Hotel.

Sean Bean, who was also in Accused II, won the best actor award, taking the prize over Lennie James and Oliver Lansley.

At the ceremony, BBC1’s Sherlock won the drama series category, beating Call the Midwife and Line of Duty, while its writer, Steven Moffat, won the writer section.

Good Cop, also on BBC1, took the drama serial award and The Hollow Crown, shown on BBC2, was named best single drama.

Coronation Street took the prize for best soap over EastEnders and Hollyoaks and CBBC series Wolfblood took the children’s drama prize, beating Mr Stink, shown on BBC1, and S4C’s Teulu Ty Crwn.

Other winners included Jessica Hynes, who won the comedy performance section for Twenty Twelve, beating Ruth Jones and Jack Whitehall.

However, Twenty Twelve lost out in the scripted comedy category, with Alan Partridge – Welcome to the Places of My Life winning the award. It also beat Channel 4’s Fresh Meat.

The award for best comedy writer, meanwhile, went to the writing team of The Thick of It, shown on BBC2.

Celebrity Juice, shown on ITV2, triumphed in the entertainment category, taking the prize over Britain’s Got Talent and Dynamo – Magician Impossible.

Danny Boyle was also honoured at the awards for his work on the opening ceremony of the Olympics.

The RTS Programme Awards honour excellence in “key genres of television programming”.