Olivia Colman and Sheridan Smith up for RTS awards

by -

Olivia Colman, Anne Marie Duff and Sheridan Smith will go head to head for the title of best actress at this year’s Royal Television Society Programme Awards.

Colman and Duff are nominated for BBC1’s Accused II, while Smith is up for ITV’s Mrs Biggs.

The best actor category sees Sean Bean, who is also nominated for Accused II, up against Lennie James for BBC2’s Line of Duty, and Oliver Lansley for BBC1’s Best Possible Taste – The Kenny Everett Story.

Other nominees for the awards, which honour “excellence in key genres of television programming”, include Jessica Hynes, Ruth Jones and Jack Whitehall. All three are up in the comedy performance category.

Meanwhile, BBC1’s Call the Midwife and Sherlock will compete with BBC2’s Line of Duty in the drama series category, and Good Cop, Parade’s End and Room at the Top – all broadcast by the BBC – have been nominated in the drama serial section.

The nominees for single drama are Channel 4’s Everyday, My Murder, shown on BBC3, and BBC2’s The Hollow Crown, while the soap category sees Coronation Street, EastEnders and Hollyoaks nominated for the award.

The scripted comedy nominees are Fresh Meat, Alan Partridge – Welcome to the Places of My Life and Twenty Twelve.

Twenty Twelve’s creator, John Morton, is also up for best comedy writer, against the writing team of The Thick of It and Jo Brand, Vicki Pepperdine and Joanna Scanlan, who are recognised for Getting On, the BBC4 comedy.

The nominees for drama writer are Robert Jones, for Murder, Jed Mercurio, for Line of Duty, and Steven Moffat, who is up for Sherlock.

The awards will be presented on March 19 at a ceremony held at the Grosvenor Hotel in London.