Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Nominations open for The Stage Awards

Stage Award winners earlier this year (l-r) Sasha Regan, Neil Constable, Dan Bates, Anne McNulty, Chris Isherman, Adrian Hall and David MacLennan with the star of War Horse, Joey. Photo: Stephanie Methven
by -

Nominations for next year’s Stage Awards in association with Robertson Taylor W&P Longreach open today, with theatre organisations across the UK given the opportunity to put themselves forward for consideration.

The Stage Awards are now in their fourth year – and previously titled The Stage 100 Awards – and celebrate performing arts organisations and the teams behind them. Again this year, we are asking for your input at the early stages of the nominations process. Organisations are allowed to put themselves (or others) forward for specific categories:

  • London theatre of the year
  • Regional theatre of the year
  • Fringe theatre of the year
  • Producer of the year
  • School of the year

The only category for which self-nomination is not allowed is the unsung hero award. This category aims to recognise those working outside the limelight, but whose contribution is crucial to an organisation’s success.

Last year, this award was jointly won by casting director Anne McNulty and Chris Isherman, long-serving theatre manager at the Duchess Theatre.

Following an online nomination process, which will close at midnight on Monday, December 9, reader nominations will be included in deliberations by The Stage Awards judging panel, with winners chosen from a selection of public nominations and the judges’ own nominations.

Alistair Smith, deputy editor of The Stage and chair of the judging panel, said: “The Stage Awards recognise excellence – in all its forms – across the performing arts industry. The vast majority of our winners in previous years have come through the nominations process, so it is absolutely worthwhile for organisations to put themselves or others forward for recognition.

“When nominating, we ask for information about what the nominee has achieved over the last 12 months. What the judging panel is looking for is not the quantity of nominations, but the quality of the supporting evidence with each nomination.”

Go to www.thestage.co.uk/stageawards for full criteria and to nominate an organisation or individual for any of the awards.

The awards are sponsored by Robertson Taylor W&P Longreach, with category sponsorship from Haagen-Dazs, Audience Systems, Ticketmaster, Nick Hern Books and the Association of British Theatre Technicians.

Nominations close on December 9, shortlisted organisations will be announced in our Stage 100 special issue on January 2, with the winners revealed at The Stage New Year Party on January 31.

Previous winners have included Sheffield Theatres, the National Theatre, Chichester Festival Theatre, Sylvia Young Theatre School and A Play, A Pie and A Pint.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.