Matthew Bourne and Russell Maliphant lead National Dance Awards nominations

Matthew Bourne's Sleeping Beauty. Photo: Simon Annand
by -

Matthew Bourne and Russell Maliphant have been shortlisted for the best modern choreography prize at this year’s National Dance Awards.

Bourne has been selected for Sleeping Beauty, performed by his company New Adventures, while Maliphant has been recognised for Fallen, created for Ballet Boyz as part of the company’s touring group and show The Talent.

Joining them in the same category are Guilherme Botelho for Sideways Rain performed by dance company Alias, and Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui for Puz/zle, performed by his company Eastman.

The National Dance Awards, presented by the dance section of the Critics’ Circle, has also revealed nominations for Northern Ballet’s artistic director David Nixon, for The Great Gatsby, and for Christopher Wheeldon, for Aeturnum with the Royal Ballet, in the best classical choreography category.

Mark Morris and Alexei Ratmansky have also been shortlisted for the prize, for Beaux - performed by the San Francisco Ballet - and 24 Preludes with the Royal Ballet, respectively.

Meanwhile Sergei Polunin, Edward Watson, Vadim Muntagirov and Dane Hurst will battle it out for the title of best male dancer. Maria Kochetkova, Natalia Osipova, Olga Smirnova and Eva Yerbabuena will compete for the best female dancer prize.

Graham Watts, chairman of the Critics’ Circle dance section, said: “There is a distinctly international flavour to the nominations in 2013 with all four outstanding company nominees coming from overseas for the first time and more than half of all nominations honouring overseas companies or dancers based overseas.”

He added: “These shortlisted nominees come from a long list of over 250 dancers, choreographers and companies and so the final shortlists are already very much the elite of 2013.”

The full list of nominations is:


Best male dancer

Dane Hurst (Rambert)

Vadim Muntagirov (English National Ballet)

Sergei Polunin (Moscow Stanislavsky Ballet and guest artist, Royal Ballet)

Edward Watson (Royal Ballet)


Best female dancer

Maria Kochetkova (San Francisco Ballet)

Natalia Osipova (Mikhailovsky Ballet and guest artist, Royal Ballet and Bolshoi Ballet)

Olga Smirnova (Bolshoi Ballet)

Eva Yerbabuena (Ballet Flamenco Eva Yerbabuena)


Outstanding company

Boston Ballet

Mikhailovsky Ballet


San Francisco Ballet


Best classical choreography

Mark Morris (Beaux for San Francisco Ballet)

David Nixon (The Great Gatsby for Northern Ballet)

Alexei Ratmansky (24 Preludes for Royal Ballet)

Christopher Wheeldon (Aeternum for Royal Ballet)


Best modern choreography

Guilherme Botelho (Sideways Rain for Alias)

Matthew Bourne (Sleeping Beauty for New Adventures)

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui (Puz/zle for Eastman)

Russell Maliphant (Fallen for Ballet Boyz the Talent)


Outstanding female performance classical

Nancy Osbaldeston (for the ballerina in Petrushka for English National Ballet)

Cira Robinson (in War Letters for Ballet Black)

Akane Takada (for Olga in Onegin for Royal Ballet)

Yuan Yuan Tan (in RAkU for San Francisco Ballet)


Outstanding male performance classical

Jeffrey Cirio (in Plan to B for Boston Ballet)

Israel Galvan (for flamenco performances at Sadler's Wells)

Nicolas Le Riche (in Le Jeune Homme et la Mort for English National Ballet)

Brian Maloney (for Bratfisch in Mayerling for Royal Ballet)


Outstanding female performance modern

Julie Cunningham (in New Works 2012 for Michael Clark Company)

Rocío Molina (in Danzaora at Sadler's Wells)

Clemmie Sveaas (in Witch-Hunt for Bern Ballett)

Hannah Vassallo (for Aurora in Sleeping Beauty for New Adventures)


Outstanding male performance modern

Nathan Goodman (in Madcap for Richard Alston Dance Company)

Christopher Marney (Count Lilac in Sleeping Beauty for New Adventures)

Liam Riddick (in Buzzing Round the Hunisuccle for Richard Alston Dance Company)

Paul White (in The Oracle for Meryl Tankard)


Best independent company


Ballet Boyz, for The Talent

New Movement Collective

Shobana Jeyasingh Dance