Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Curious Incident wins seven awards at Oliviers 2013

The Olivier Award statuette
by -

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has won seven Olivier Awards, matching the record set by Matilda the Musical last year.

The National Theatre production, which has since transferred to the Apollo Theatre in the West End, was recognised in the best actor category for Luke Treadaway’s performance and in the best director group for Marianne Elliott.

The show, which is an adaptation of Mark Haddon’s novel by Simon Stephens, also took home gongs for best play and for best supporting actress, won by Nicola Walker.

Best lighting design went to Paule Constable and the production also took home prizes for Bunny Christie and Finn Ross’s set design and Ian Dickinson and Adrian Sutton’s sound design.

Treadaway said: “I see this as a massive collaboration with everyone else that worked on the show. I’m so glad that everyone is enjoying it, but this award is not even necessary – I’ve loved doing the show so much anyway.”

He added: “The fact that the National is a subsidised theatre means it is has been able to experiment and create new theatre so that not everything is done for ticket sales. I hope that the funding from the arts council continues [for the National] otherwise shows like this wouldn’t happen.”

The Royal Shakespeare Company’s production of Matilda the Musical won in seven categories at the 2012 Olivier Awards and was entered into the Guinness Book of Records for the most number of wins for a single show.

Asked how it felt to match the success of last year’s big winner Matilda the Musical, playwright Stephens said: “It’s so exciting and everyone will say this, because it’s true about theatre, but Curious Incident is an example of the way in which this artform more than any other artform is collaborative. Anyone who has helped stage this show has created a team spirit and so to be recognised tonight means an immense amount.”

Elsewhere at this year’s awards, which took place this evening at the Royal Opera House, Helen Mirren was named best actress for her role as the Queen in Peter Morgan’s The Audience, while Richard McCabe won best supporting actor for his performance as former prime minister Harold Wilson in the same play.

Meanwhile, Chichester Festival Theatre’s production of Sweeney Todd, which transferred to the Adelphi Theatre last year, won best musical revival and its leading performers Michael Ball and Imelda Staunton were named best actor and actress in a musical.

Top Hat took home three gongs, for best new musical, best theatre choreographer – awarded to Bill Deamer – and best costume design, won by Jon Morrell.

Leigh Zimmerman received the award for best performance in a supporting role in a musical for her appearance in A Chorus Line at the London Palladium, while best revival went to A Long Day’s Journey Into Night at the Apollo Theatre, and Goodnight Mister Tom at the Phoenix Theatre won in the best entertainment and family category.

As previously announced, playwright Michael Frayn and choreographer Gillian Lynne were both presented with an Olivier Special Award at the ceremony.

The 2013 Olivier Awards ceremony was sponsored by Mastercard. For full coverage see this week’s print edition of The Stage.

The awards in full are:

Best actor

Luke Treadaway – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best Actress

Helen Mirren – The Audience

Best actor in a supporting role

Richard McCabe – The Audience

Best actress in a supporting role

Nicola Walker – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Mastercard best new play

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best director

Marianne Elliott – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best actor in a musical

Michael Ball – Sweeney Todd

Best actress in a musical

Imelda Staunton – Sweeney Todd

Best performance in a supporting role in a musical

Leigh Zimmerman – A Chorus Line

Best new musical

Top Hat

Best revival

Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Best musical revival

Sweeney Todd

Best entertainment and family

Goodnight Mister Tom

White Light award for best lighting design

Paule Constable – The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

Best sound design

Ian Dickinson and Adrian Sutton – The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time

Best costume design

Jon Morrell – Top Hat

XL Video Award for best set design

Bunny Christie and Finn Ross – The Curious Incident of the dog in the Night-Time

Best new dance production

Aeternum by the Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House, choreographed by Christoper Wheeldon

Outstanding achievement in dance

Marianela Nunez for Aeternum, Diana & Actaeon and Viscera, The Royal Ballet at the Royal Opera House

Best theatre choreographer

Bill Deamer – Top Hat

Outstanding achievement in an affiliate theatre

The season of new writing at the Royal Court Upstairs

Best new opera production

Einstein On The Beach at the Barbican Theatre

Outstanding achievement in opera

Bryan Hymel for his performances in Les Troyens, Robert Le Diable and Rusalka at the Royal Opera House

BBC Radio 2 Audience Award

Billy Elliot The Musical

Special Award

Gillian Lynne

Michael Frayn


We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.