Curious Incident leads nominations at 2013 Oliviers

Luke Treadway in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time. Photo: Manuel Harlan
by -

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time has received the most nominations for the 2013 Laurence Olivier Awards.

The National Theatre production has been recognised across eight categories, including best new play, best director for Marianne Elliot, and best actor for Luke Treadaway’s lead performance.

Closely following Curious Incident, are new stage musical Top Hat with seven nominations and the West End transfer of Chichester Festival Theatre’s Sweeney Todd, which has been recognised with six.

Meanwhile, other nominations in the best actor category include James McAvoy for his title role in Macbeth and Rupert Everett for his performance in The Judas Kiss. Mark Rylance’s role in Twelfth Night and Rafe Spall’s performance in Constellations have also earned them recognition.

The best actress category will see Helen Mirren compete with Hattie Morahan for their roles in The Audience and A Doll’s House respectively. Also nominated are Billie Piper for her part in The Effect and Kristin Scott Thomas for Old Times.

Mark Rubinstein, president of the Society of London Theatre, said: “Eight nominations for Curious Incident is fantastic news for the National Theatre but it’s also great because people can still buy tickets to see the show [now at the Apollo Theatre].”

“The opportunities the subsidised sector have to develop work is fantastic and allows for projects that otherwise might not have been produced to be produced. We’ve also seen The Audience being heralded, for example, and it’s great to have a mixture. That’s what’s really strong about London theatre - having those different sources of funding and creating theatre and that’s been seen through in the nominations,” he said.

Julian Bird, chief executive of SOLT, added: “With this year’s nominations, all four new musicals are commercial. Loserville started at the West Yorkshire Playhouse but it was a commercial enterprise and Top Hat and The Bodyguard have no subsidised element involved in them. So I think it’s [the split of commercial and subsidised nominations in the shortlist] probably more mixed this year.”

Winners will be announced at a ceremony at the Royal Opera House, hosted by Sheridan Smith and Hugh Bonneville, on April 28. Highlights of the event will be broadcast by ITV later in the same evening.