Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Nominations revealed for The Stage’s Edinburgh awards

by -

Nichola McAuliffe, Mike McShane and Bill Paterson are among the nominees for this year’s Stage Awards for Acting Excellence at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Now in their 18th year, The Stage Awards are the only honours for professional theatre presented by a national UK publication at the fringe. They include categories for best actor, best actress, best ensemble and best solo performer. Nominations are chosen by the newspaper’s Edinburgh-based review team who see hundreds of productions before making their choice.

Nominees for this year’s awards come from across the globe – as well as a strong British contingent, there are nominations for performers from France, Italy, South Africa, USA and Australia.

Only two productions received multiple nominations – Maurice’s Jubilee at Pleasance and Thread at Assembly. Julian Glover is nominated for best actor and McAuliffe (a former winner at the Stage Awards) is up for best actress for Maurice’s Jubilee, while Claire Dargo and Mary Gapinski will both vie for best actress for their turns in Thread.

Meanwhile, Pleasance and Assembly lead the field among the Edinburgh venues, with eight and seven nominations respectively. Elsewhere, the Traverse has received three nominations and C Venues two.

Stage critic and chair of the judging panel Nick Awde said: “Once again the standard of performance in all four categories has gone from strength to strength. The nominations represent performers working across a wide spectrum of genres and all the nominees have displayed a hugely impressive range of technical skills.”

The winners will be announced at an invitation-only ceremony at Dance Base in Edinburgh, on the evening of Sunday, August 26.

Brian Attwood, editor of The Stage, added: “The Stage Awards have been richly served by the wide array of talent participating on the Edinburgh Fringe. It’s our hope that, as ever, the industry publication can serve them too, by providing the premier platform for highlighting theatrical talent at the festival.”

The nominations in full are:

Best actor

Mike McShane for Mon Droit (Mike McShane at Pleasance)

Julian Glover for Maurice’s Jubilee (Pleasance and PW Productions in association with Wild Thyme Productions at Pleasance)

Bill Paterson for And No More Shall We Part (Hampstead Theatre at the Traverse)

Brian Vernel for The Static (ThickSkin at Underbelly)

Benoit Hattet for Elephant Man (Compagnie du Fomenteur/Benoit Hattet, Isabelle Bouvrain at Institut Francais d’Ecosse)

Best actress

Scarlet Sweeney for As Ye Sow (Theatre of the Damned and Bare Bawds Theatre at Pleasance)

Nichola McAuliffe for Maurice’s Jubilee (Pleasance and PW Productions in association with Wild Thyme Productions at Pleasance)

Mary Gapinski for Thread (Nutshell at Assembly)

Claire Dargo for Thread (Nutshell at Assembly)

Katie Bonna for Dirty Great Love Story (Richard Marsh and Katie Bonna at Pleasance)

Zoey Dawson for The Economist (MKA: Theatre of New Writing at C)

Best ensemble

Baxter Theatre Centre for Mies Julie (Baxter Theatre Centre, South African State Theatre and Assembly at Assembly);

Tick Tock Productions for And the Girls in Their Sunday Dresses (The Market Theatre and Assembly at Assembly);

Caroline Horton and Company for Mess (China Plate presents Triggered@Warwick, commissioned by BAC, Parabola Arts Centre at Traverse);

Q Brothers for Othello – The Remix (Q Brothers, Chicago Shakespeare Theater, Richard Jordan Productions and Pleasance at Pleasance);

Communicado for Tam O’Shanter (Communicado in coproduction with Horsecross Arts and Assembly at Assembly);

The Elephant And The Mouse for Repertory Theatre (The Elephant and the Mouse at C)

Best solo performer

Catherine Shipton for Soldiers’ Wives (Jermyn Street Theatre at Assembly)

Katie O’Kelly for Joyced! (Lane of Stones at Assembly)

Silvia Gallerano for The Sh*t/La Merda (Silvia Gallerano/Cristian Ceresoli at Summerhall)

Alexander West for My Elevator Days (Svenska Teatern at Pleasance)

Joanna Bending for Hand over Fist (Seabright Productions and the Comedians’ Theatre Company at Pleasance)

Kieran Hurley for Beats (The Arches in association with the Traverse Theatre Company at Traverse)

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.