Moffat honoured at Writers’ Guild Awards

by -

Sherlock creator Steven Moffat has picked up the top prize at this year’s Writers’ Guild Awards.

The writer, who co-created Sherlock with Mark Gatiss and is also the showrunner on BBC1’s Doctor Who, was awarded the special award for outstanding writing at the event, held this week at the Tabernacle in London.

Other winners included screenwriter Neil McKay, who won the prize for best TV short-form drama for Appropriate Adult, shown on ITV1. He beat Gatiss and Moffat, who had been nominated for Sherlock, and This is England ’88 writers Shane Meadows and Jack Thorne.

Meanwhile, the TV drama series category was won by the writing team of BBC3’s Being Human, led by Toby Whithouse, and the award for best continuing TV drama series went to Nick Leather, who won for his work on Hollyoaks.

Phil Ford took the prize for best children’s TV script for The Sarah Jane Adventures – The Curse of Clyde Langer, while the award for best TV comedy was presented to Tony Roche for his script Holy Flying Circus, which was broadcast on BBC4. The radio drama category was won by John Dryden, who penned Pandemic for BBC Radio 4, while the radio comedy section was won by Matt Berry for his sitcom I, Regress.

Elsewhere, the prize for best play went to Rachel De-lahay for her script The Westbridge, which was a Royal Court production that ran at the Bussey Building in Peckham, and the award for best play for children and young people went to Brendan Murray for Hare and Tortoise.