Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Antonio Pappano and Amanda Thompson among New Year honours

by -

Antonio Pappano, Royal Opera House music director, and TV producer Peter Bazalgette have both been knighted in the 2012 New Year honours list, while Blackpool Pleasure Beach managing director Amanda Thompson received an OBE.

Pappano was knighted for services to music. He became music director at Covent Garden in 2002, conducting an extensive range of productions including the premiere of The Minotaur by Harrison Birtwistle in 2008 and Anna Nicole last year. He won the 2003 Olivier Award for Outstanding Achievement in Opera.

Bazalgette brought Big Brother to the UK and was chief creative officer of TV production company Endemol until 2007. Other formats he has developed include Changing Rooms and Ready Steady Cook. He is currently deputy chairman of English National Opera and president of the Royal Television Society. He received a knighthood for services to broadcasting.

Pleasure Beach head Thompson said she felt “deeply privileged” to receive an OBE for services to the leisure park industry. Thompson, who is the great-granddaughter of Pleasure Beach founder William George Bean, said: “I feel very honoured and deeply privileged to have received this accolade and to follow in my father’s footsteps as he was also awarded the OBE for his services to tourism. It’s very important for me to carry on in the tradition of Pleasure Beach and long may the success continue.”

Helena Bonham Carter received the CBE for services to drama, alongside chair of the Royal Court board Anthony Burton, playwright Dannie Abse, Celador Entertainment chair Paul Smith and former head of the Royal Academy of Dance Joan White.

Ronnie Corbett was also made a CBE. He had previously been awarded the OBE.

Chief executive and artistic director of the Roundhouse, Marcus Davey, was given the OBE for services to drama. The same honour was awarded to Ronald Corp, who founded the New London Orchestra, Julia Farron (Mrs Joyce Rodrigues), dancer and teacher, for services to ballet, and Sarah Weir, head of arts and cultural strategy for the Olympic Delivery Authority.

Lorna Brown, former chair of Arts Development UK – previously the National Association of Local Government Arts Officers – was awarded the MBE, joining a list including actor David Harewood and composer John Metcalf.

Founder of the Little Angel Theatre, Lyndie Wright, was given the MBE for “services to the craft of puppetry”. Roger Pope, former head of student services at Trinity Laban Conservatoire of Music and Dance also received an MBE.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.