Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Being Human wins at Writer’s Guild awards

by -

BBC3 drama Being Human picked up the award for Best Television Drama Series at this year’s Writers’ Guild of Great Britain Awards.

The awards are the only ones which see writers honoured by their peers and Toby Whithouse’s Being Human beat Doctor Who and Ashes to Ashes to win in the drama series category.

Other winners at this year’s event were Jo Brand, Joanna Scanlan and Vicki Pepperdine, who won in the Best Television Comedy category for writing Getting On, and Peter Bowker, who penned Occupation, which won the prize for Best Television Short Form Drama.

A team of writers, including Jonathan Harvey and Lucy Gannon, were honoured for Coronation Street in the continuing drama section, while the award for Best Theatre Play went to Jez Butterworth’s Jerusalem. Butterworth beat Lucy Prebble, who was nominated for Enron, and David Greig, who wrote Dunsinane.

At the ceremony, held in London last night, Michael Frayn was awarded the lifetime achievement award.