Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Maxwell Martin wins second Bafta as BBC dominates drama categories

by -

Anna Maxwell Martin was tonight named best actress for her role in Channel 4 drama Poppy Shakespeare, in a ceremony which saw the broadcaster take home eight gongs.

It was the second Bafta for Maxwell Martin, who previously won for her role as Esther Summerson in 2005’s Bleak House.

Maxwell Martin beat Andrea Riseborough, Maxine Peake and June Brown, who had been nominated for her portrayal of EastEnders’ Dot Branning. Her defeat meant that EastEnders failed to win any awards, with ITV1’s The Bill winning Best Continuing Drama for the first time.

Channel 4 also secured the Best Actor gong, with Stephen Dillane winning for his portrayal of a grieving father in The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall. The acting awards led a successful night for the broadcaster, which secured eight wins overall, including the audience award — the only one to be voted for by audiences – for Skins.

In the drama categories, though, it was the BBC which dominated, winning all three categories. Wallander was awarded Best Drama Series, while Criminal Justice, Peter Moffat’s drama starring Ben Whishaw, won Best Drama Serial. White Girl, written by Abi Morgan and directed by Hettie Macdonald, won the Single Drama category. A further award, the Bafta Special Award, was presented to former BBC Head of Fiction, Jane Tranter, who last year moved to Los Angeles to join BBC Worldwide as exectuive vice-president of programming and production.

Harry Hill won the Entertainment Performance award for the second year running for ITV1’s TV Burp, while the broadcaster’s X Factor took its third Entertainment Programme award in four years. Entertainment also took the Features award, with The Choir: Boys Don’t Sing winning for its coverage of musical director Gareth Malone’s efforts to create a boys’ choir in an inner-city school.

The Comedy Programme award was given to Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse for their sketch show Harry and Paul. In their accpetance speech, they dedicated their win to producer Geoffrey Perkins, who died last August.


BEST ACTOR: Stephen Dillane, The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall (Channel 4)

BEST ACTRESS: Anna Maxwell Martin, Poppy Shakespeare (Channel 4)


COMEDY PERFORMANCE: David Mitchell, Peep Show (Channel 4)

SINGLE DRAMA: White Girl (BBC2/Tiger Aspect)

DRAMA SERIES: Wallander (BBC1/Left Bank Pictures/Yellow Bird/TKBC)

DRAMA SERIAL: Criminal Justice (BBC1)

CONTINUING DRAMA: The Bill (ITV1/Talkback Thames)

INTERNATIONAL: Mad Men (BBC4/Lionsgate)

FACTUAL SERIES: Amazon with Bruce Parry (BBC2/Indus Films & Endeavour)


SINGLE DOCUMENTARY: Chosen (Channel 4)

FEATURES: The Choir: Boys Don’t Sing (BBC2/Twenty Twenty Television)

CURRENT AFFAIRS: Saving Africa’s Witch Children: Dispatches (Channel 4/Red Rebel Films and Oxford)

NEWS COVERAGE: News at Ten Chinese Earthquake (ITV1/ITN)

SPORT: ITV Formula 1: Brazilian Grand Prix (ITV1/North One Television)

INTERACTIVITY: Embarrassing Bodies Online (Channel 4.com/Maverick Television)


COMEDY PROGRAMME: Harry and Paul (BBC1/Tiger Aspect)

SITUATION COMEDY: The IT Crowd (Channel 4/Talkback Productions)

PHILIPS AUDIENCE AWARD: Skins (Channel 4/Company Pictures)


ACADEMY FELLOWSHIP: Dawn French & Jennifer Saunders

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.