Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Five British playwrights nominated for 2009 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

by -

Five British playwrights are in the running for the 2009 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize for female playwrights working in the English language.

Lucinda Coxon for Happy Now?, Chloe Moss for This Wide Night, Kaite O’Reilly for The Almond and the Seahorse, Amy Rosenthal for On the Rocks and Esther Wilson for Ten Tiny Toes are all in the running for the award, which is given annually to “recognise women from around the world who have written works of outstanding quality for the English-speaking theatre”.

Other finalists include one Indian and four US writers. The judging panel features actresses Sigourney Weaver and Jenny Jules, playwrights Edward Albee, Peter Gill and Emily Mann and former National Theatre executive director Genista McIntosh.

The winner will be awarded $20,000 and will be announced on February 25.

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.