The Scotsman announces a further eight winners of the Fringe First Awards

by -

The Scotsman has announced eight winners in the second leg of this year’s Fringe First Awards, which recognise high quality drama at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe.

Daniel Kitson picked up a prize for his one man show 66a Church Road – his third Fringe First since 2005 – as did Irishman Mark O’Rowle for Terminus. Both shows are playing at Edinburgh new writing venue the Traverse Theatre, where four of the five recipients from last week’s awards are also running.

The Pleasance emerged as another top venue this week, with The Caravan by Look Left Look Right and Omphile Molusi’s Itsoseng receiving prizes. Other Fringe First recipients were The Paper Birds for In A Thousand Pieces, running at the Gilded Balloon Teviot, Edinburgh University Theatre Company’s Eight, playing at the Bedlam Theatre, Top Of The World’s Paperweight which is on at the Assembly @ George Street, and Live Theatre’s Motherland at the Underbelly.

The Scotsman announced the first five winners last week. The final recipients of the Fringe First Awards will be announced on August 22, by theatre star Simon Callow – who is performing in A Festival Dickens – at the Assembly Music Hall.

Two winners of the 2008 awards will be invited to perform extracts of their works at the ceremony. There will also be musical performances by two of the best shows on the fringe, which will be announced shortly.