- The Stage - https://www.thestage.co.uk -

Evening Standard Theatre Awards pay tribute to former host Sherrin

Ned Sherrin will be honoured at this year’s Evening Standard Theatre Awards, where the prize for Best Musical will be named after the late broadcaster, writer, director and satirist.

Sherrin, who died at the age of 76 on October 1, was a long-time host of the awards, which will this year be compered by Richard Wilson.

The awards shortlist will be announced next week and the ceremony will be held at the Savoy Hotel on November 27.

For the first time, this year a longlist has been announced. The nominations in full are:

Best Play:

Best Actor:

Best Actress:

The Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical:

The Sydney Edwards Award for Best Director:

Best Design:

The Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright:

The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer: