Get our free email newsletter with just one click

ITV unveils Avenue of Stars

by -

ITV has unveiled its Avenue of Stars – the walkway dedicated to entertainers from TV, music and comedy – in central London.

The 100 stars were unveiled in a special programme as part of the network’s 50th anniversary celebrations. Michael Caine made a short speech and cut the ribbon opening the UK’s answer to Hollywood’s Walk of Fame.

British and Commonwealth celebrities are eligible to get a star on the pavement outside St Paul’s in Covent Garden.

Laurence Olivier, Shirley Bassey, Cary Grant, Charlie Chaplin and Alfred Hitchcock are among those honoured, along with Judi Dench, Ian McKellen and Michael Gambon. Geordie duo Ant and Dec also on feature on the walkway.

The full list of the first 100 stars is:

Sir Alfred Hitchcock

The Beatles

The Sex Pistols

Sir Trevor McDonald

Dame Maggie Smith

Coronation Street

(Lord) Richard Attenborough

Sir Charles Chaplin

Ant and Dec

Victoria Wood

Sir Cliff Richard

Dame Gracie Fields

Christopher Lee

Cary Grant

Hugh Grant

Sir John Mills

Sir Alec Guinness

Sir Rex Harrison

Bob Geldof

(Lord) Laurence Olivier

The Rolling Stones

Glenda Jackson

Sir Peter Ustinov

Nicole Kidman

Michael Palin

Cilla Black

Julie Walters

Frankie Howerd

Sir Ian McKellen

Sir Ralph Richardson

Sir David Frost

Peter O’Toole

Alan Whicker

Sir John Gielgud

Tony Hancock

Dame Peggy Ashcroft

David Bowie

The Bee Gees

Pink Floyd

Dame Shirley Bassey

Dame Edith Evans

Ken Dodd

Tommy Cooper

Benny Hill

Stan Laurel

Lenny Henry

Eric Sykes

Dame Edna Everage

Sir Harry Secombe

The Two Ronnies

John Cleese

Dame Thora Hird

Arthur Lowe

Leonard Rossiter

Paul Eddington

Chris Tarrant

John Thaw

Robbie Coltrane

Sir Sean Connery

Dame Judi Dench

Sir Michael Caine

Dame Margot Fonteyn

Sir Anthony Hopkins

Dame Julie Andrews

Charles Laughton


Robbie Williams

Errol Flynn

Sir Michael Gambon

Sir Noel Coward

Richard Briers

Sir Alan Bates

Bob Hope

The Kinks

Dame Vera Lynn

Brenda Blethyn

Peter Cook

Les Dawson

Rowan Atkinson

Peter Sellers

Bruce Forsyth

Spike Milligan

Sir David Jason

Ricky Gervais

Albert Finney

Morecambe and Wise

Dame Diana Rigg

Sir Nigel Hawthorne

Kenneth Branagh

David Niven

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa

Sir Roger Moore

Dame Elizabeth Taylor

Billy Connolly

Richard Burton

Alan Bennett

Sir Dirk Bogarde

Dame Alicia Markova

Dame Helen Mirren

(Lord) Yehudi Menuhin

Eric Clapton

Tom Jones

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.