Get our free email newsletter with just one click

Damages author Thompson wins Whitworth writing prize

by -

Steve Thompson has been announced as winner of this year’s Meyer Whitworth Award for new theatrical writing for his play Damages, produced at the Bush Theatre in London.

Damages is Thompson’s first play. Subsequently, he has been on attachment at the National Theatre Studio and has been commissioned to write for both the Royal Shakespeare Company and the BBC.

After being presented with the £8,000 prize, he commented: “I’m thrilled with the award. The Bush Theatre took a chance on a fledgling playwright with his first play, and I’m delighted for us all that the arts council has chosen to honour it.”

The award was established in 1991 and is made annually by Arts Council England. Previous winners have included Owen McCafferty, Conor McPherson and Gregory Burke.