Get our free email newsletter with just one click

The Stage 100 2018: The full list

by -

The Stage 100 is the definitive list of theatre’s most influential people and partnerships. Each year, a crack team of leading industry figures is polled before senior editorial figures at The Stage consider business success, vision and ability to affect change for the better. Rankings are based on ongoing success, weighted towards achievements in the past 12 months. In terms of diversity, the list aims to reflect the way the theatre and performing arts industry is, not what it aims to be, nor what The Stage would like it to be.

91-100 81-90 71-80 61-70 51-60 41-50 31-40 21-30 11-20 6-10 Top 5 Analysis

1. Vicky Featherstone, artistic director, Royal Court Theatre, London

2. Cameron Mackintosh and Nicholas Allott, Cameron Mackintosh Ltd/Delfont Mackintosh Ltd

3. Sonia Friedman, producer

4. Andrew Lloyd Webber, Really Useful Group/Really Useful Theatres

5. Rufus Norris and Lisa Burger, National Theatre

Read a detailed breakdown of the top 5

6. Nica Burns and Max Weitzenhoffer, Nimax Theatres

7. Nick Starr and Nicholas Hytner, Bridge Theatre, London

8. Michael Harrison, producer

9. Lin-Manuel Miranda, composer/performer

10. James Graham., playwright

Read a detailed breakdown of 6-10

11. Rupert Goold, Almeida Theatre, London

12. David Lan and Lucy Woollatt, Young Vic Theatre, London

13. Nick Thomas, Qdos Entertainment

14. Martin Green, Hull City of Culture

15. Sarah Frankcom, Royal Exchange, Manchester

16. Mark Cornell, Adam Kenwright, Michael Lynas, Ambassador Theatre Group

17. Gregory Doran, Catherine Mallyon and Erica Whyman, Royal Shakespeare Company

18. Gemma Bodinetz and Deborah Aydon, Liverpool Everyman and Playhouse

19. Ivo van Hove, director

20. Kwame Kwei-Armah, Artistic director designate, Young Vic, London

Read a detailed breakdown of 11-20

21. Matthew Bourne, choreographer

22. Robert Icke, director

23. Steve Tompkins, architect

24. Bill Kenwright, producer

25. David Ian, producer

26. Imelda Staunton, actor

27. Toni Racklin, Barbican Centre, London

28. Howard Panter and Rosemary Squire, Trafalgar Entertainment Group

29. Alistair Spalding, Sadler’s Wells Theatre, London

30. Emma Rice and Neil Constable, Shakespeare’s Globe, London

Read a detailed breakdown of 21-30

31. Matthew Byam Shaw, Nia Janis, Nick Salmon, Playful Productions

32. Daniel Evans and Rachel Tackley, Chichester Festival Theatre

33. Nicholas Serota and Darren Henley, Arts Council England

34. Robert Hastie and Dan Bates, Sheffield Theatres

35. Jez Butterworth, writer

36. Matthew Warchus and Kate Varah, Old Vic, London

37. Josie Rourke and Kate Pakenham, Donmar Warehouse

38. Sam Mendes and Caro Newling, Neal Street Productions

39. Marianne Elliott, director

40. Fiona Allan, Birmingham Hippodrome

Read a detailed breakdown of 31-40

41. Kenny Wax, producer

42. Madani Younis, Bush Theatre, London

43. Dominic Cooke, director

44. David Pugh and Dafydd Rogers, producer

45. Julian Bird and Cassie Chadderton, Society of London Theatre, UK Theatre

46. Alex Beard, Oliver Mears, Kevin O’Hare and Antonio Pappano, Royal Opera House, London

47. Sarah Holmes, New Wolsey Ipswich and Ramps on the Moon

48. Jenny Sealey, Graeae artistic director

49. Jeremy Herrin, Headlong

50. Jack Thorne, writer

Read a detailed breakdown of 41-50

The Stage 100: theatre’s power list 2017

51. James Grieve and George Perrin, Paines Plough

52. Ed Bartlam and Charlie Wood, Underbelly

53. Edward Snape, Marilyn Eardley and Jon Bath, Fiery Angel

54. Michael Grade and Michael Linnit, producers

55. John Tiffany, director

56. Mark Goucher, producer

57. Nikolai Foster and Chris Stafford, Curve, Leicester

58. Michael Grandage, director

59. Mike Bartlett, playwright

60. Michelle Terry, Shakespeare’s Globe, artistic director designate

Read a detailed breakdown of 51-60

61. Tamara Rojo, English National Ballet

62. Amber Riley, performer

63. Drew McOnie, choreographer

64. Tom Morris and Emma Stenning, Bristol Old Vic

65. Katie Mitchell, director

66. David Greig, Royal Lyceum Theatre, Edinburgh

67. Sean Holmes and Sian Alexander, Lyric Hammersmith, London

68. Indhu Rubasingham, Tricycle Theatre, London

69. Rachel O’Riordan, Sherman Theatre, Cardiff

70. Michael Longhurst, director

Read a detailed breakdown of 61-70

71. Mike Shepherd, director

72. Andrew Scott, performer

73. Jonathan Sayer, Henry Shields and Henry Lewis, Mischief Theatre

74. Marcus Davey, Roundhouse, London

75. Jackie Wylie, National Theatre of Scotland

76. Lucy Kirkwood, playwright

77. Hofesh Shechter and Henny Finch, choreographer/producer

78. David Jubb, Battersea Arts Centre, London

79. David Byrne, New Diorama Theatre, London

80. Carlos Acosta, choreographer

Read a detailed breakdown of 71-80

81. Adrian Vinken and Simon Stokes, Theatre Royal Plymouth

82. Nadia Fall, Theatre Royal Stratford East

83. Sarah Brigham, Derby Theatre

84. Jess Thom, theatremaker and comedian

85. Inua Ellams, playwright

86. Simon Stephens, playwright

87. Purni Morell, Unicorn Theatre, London

88. Cassie Raine and Anna Ehnold-Danailov, Parents in Performing Arts

89. Paule Constable, lighting designer

90. Simeilia Hodge-Dallaway, Artistic Directors of the Future

Read a detailed breakdown of 81-90

91. Alan Lane, Slung Low

92. Jamie Wilson, producer

93. Kully Thiarai, National Theatre Wales

94. Tom MacRae and Dan Gillespie Sells, musical theatre writers

95. Paul Miller, Orange Tree Theatre, London

96. Selina Thompson, theatremaker

97. Bunny Christie, designer

98. Tim Wilson, Mat Burt and Andy George, Vault Festival, London

99. Joseph Houston, William Whelton and Katy Lipson, Hope Mill Theatre, Manchester

100. Jay Miller, The Yard Theatre, London

Read a detailed breakdown of 91-100

91-100 81-90 71-80 61-70 51-60 41-50 31-40 21-30 11-20 6-10 Top 5 Analysis

We need your help…

When you subscribe to The Stage, you’re investing in our journalism. And our journalism is invested in supporting theatre and the performing arts.

The Stage is a family business, operated by the same family since we were founded in 1880. We do not receive government funding. We are not owned by a large corporation. Our editorial is not dictated by ticket sales.

We are fully independent, but this means we rely on revenue from readers to survive.

Help us continue to report on great work across the UK, champion new talent and keep up our investigative journalism that holds the powerful to account. Your subscription helps ensure our journalism can continue.