Edinburgh Awards

The Stage Edinburgh Awards

The Stage Edinburgh Awards recognise outstanding theatre performances at the Edinburgh Fringe Festival. They are awarded throughout August and winners can be individual performers or entire ensembles.

Previous award winners include Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Jade Anouka, Julie Hesmondhalgh, Monica Dolan, Rash Dash and Daniel Kitson.

“I am really, really thrilled”

Julie Hesmondhalgh, 2018 winner

“We are absolutely overjoyed”

Kill The Beast, 2016 winner

“It’s a real privilege”

Katherine Pearce, 2018 winner

Established in 1995, The Stage Edinburgh Awards have developed a reputation for spotting excellence at the Edinburgh Fringe and signalling the year’s hottest shows. The awards are a clear marker of quality and are used by both the public and producers in Edinburgh, with winning shows going on to tour the UK and transfer to the West End.

Unlike other awards, there are no set categories and no limit to the number of awards that can be given – they are simply awarded to performers and productions the judging panel feel are deserving. The awards are presented at the end of winning performances, with winners also invited to celebrate at The Stage Edinburgh Party.

All shows covered by The Stage’s Edinburgh reviews team during the festival are eligible. If you have won an award or your show has been reviewed by The Stage find useful information for your promotional materials here.

Award winners at the 2018 Edinburgh Fringe included:

Award winners at the 2017 Edinburgh Fringe included:

  • Marc Graham for All We Ever Wanted Was Everything at the Roundabout in Summerhall
  • Rebecca Humphries, Sam Swann, William Donaldson, Lucy Pearman, Daniel Millar and Tim Gardner for Prom Kween at the Underbelly Cowgate
  • Monica Dolan for The B*easts at the Underbelly Cowgate
  • Ameera Conrad, Oarabile Ditsele, Zandile Madliwa, Thando Mangcu, Sizwesandile Mnisi, Sihle Mnqwazana and Cleo Raatus for The Fall at Assembly Hall
  • The Wardrobe Ensemble for Education, Education, Education at Pleasance Dome
  • Nilaja Sun for Pike Street at Paines Plough’s Roundabout in Summerhall
  • Milly Thomas for Dust at Underbelly Cowgate
  • Selina Thompson for Salt at Summerhall
  • Amy Nostbakken and Norah Sadava for Mouthpiece at the Canada Hub at King’s Hall

Sponsorship opportunities are available for The Stage Edinburgh Awards, and provide a great platform to support theatre talent as well as give exposure for your brand to a young and creative audience.

For full information please contact janice[@]thestage.co.uk.

Photos: Alex Brenner

Recent stories

Now in their 25th year, The Stage Edinburgh Awards celebrate performance at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. They are the only awards to focus solely on...

The final winners of The Stage Edinburgh Awards 2019 have been announced, with four new prizes handed out. They go to Nigel Barrett and Sophie...

Richard Gadd and Dael Orlandersmith have won in the third week of The Stage Edinburgh Awards 2019. Orlandersmith was recognised for her performance in Until...

The second set of winners for The Stage Edinburgh Awards 2019 have been announced. Prizes have gone to Alice Vilanculo for her performance in E8...

Breffni Holahan is the first winner of this year’s The Stage Edinburgh Awards. She was given the accolade for her performance in Collapsible at Assembly...

With claims of exploitation, the ever increasing cost of accommodation and concerns about its impact on the city, can the Edinburgh Fringe keep going...