James McAvoy and Zach Braff among presenters for 2012 Olivier Awards

Natalie Woolman

Outgoing director of the Royal Ballet Monica Mason is to be given a special prize at the Olivier Awards this weekend.

Mason and lyricist Tim Rice will be presented with a special award to mark their lifetime contributions to theatre and the arts. Mason was a dancer with the company before leading it and retires later this year.

The Society of London Theatre, which organises the awards, has also released the names of the presenters attending the ceremony on April 15. These include Zach Braff, Tom Chambers, Tyne Daly, Agyness Deyn, Lenny Henry, James McAvoy, Elaine Paige, Patrick Stewart, David Suchet and Barbara Windsor.

SOLT has also revealed that the event will be streamed live for a worldwide audience on the olivierawards.com and BBC Radio 2 websites. British viewers can see live coverage on the BBC using the red button and there will also be coverage on BBC Radio 2 hosted by Ken Bruce.

An event for the public will be laid on in the Covent Garden piazza on Sunday afternoon, with live cast performances from some of the nominated shows. The event will be presented in conjunction with Magic 105.4, and hosted by Neil Fox and Louise Dearman.

The 2012 Olivier Awards will take place on April 15 at the Royal Opera House.

Search more roles
Contact News Desk

Contact the news desk
Stories, corrections and responses only please.
Please note, this is not for comments.

Purpose of message *
Your Name *
Your Email *
Your message *
Alternatively, call 020 7403 1818,
select option 2 (editorial) followed by option 1 (news desk).

Also in News