David Tennant wins best actor at first BBC Audio Drama Awards

David Tennant has been named best actor at the first BBC Audio Drama Awards.

Tennant, who also hosted the awards, won for Kafka: The Musical, written and composed by Murray Gold for BBC Radio 3. He beat Damian Lewis, who was nominated for Giovanni’s Room, and Rory Kinnear, who was nominated for Flare Path.

The best actress prize went to Rosie Cavaliero, who beat June Whitfield and Candis Nergaard to win the award.

Cavaliero won the prize for her turn in Lost Property: A Telegram from the Queen, by Katie Hims.

Hims’ Lost Property: The Year My Mother Went Missing was named best audio drama at the event, which has been established to honour writers, actors and producers working in audio drama.

Meanwhile, Andrew Scott, who appeared as Moriarty in Sherlock, was named best supporting actor for his work on BBC Radio 4′s Referee, a play by Nick Perry, and the award for best adaptation went to The History of Titus Groan, which was written for Radio 4 by Brian Sibley.

The innovation award went to The Unfortunates, which was adapted by Graham White for Radio 3, and the prize for best online audio drama went to Rock, written by Tim Fountain and produced by Made in Manchester Productions.

Other winners at the event, held tonight at Broadcasting House in London, were Bad Memories by Julian Simpson, which won the prize for best use of sound in an audio drama, and Floating, by Hugh Hughes, which took home the award for best scripted comedy drama.

Also at the ceremony, Michelle Lipton was given the Imison award for best script by a new writer for her drama Amazing Grace, and Stephen Wyatt was presented the Tinniswood award for best radio drama script. He won for his radio play, Gerontius.

Presenters of the prizes included Niamh Cusack, Richard Wilson, Johnny Vegas and Bertie Carvel.

BBC director of audio and music Tim Davie said: “These awards celebrate the cultural importance of radio drama, so I’m delighted that we have been able to honour some of the actors, writers and producers who have created outstanding programmes this year. My congratulations go to all the award winners, but I hope these awards also bring wider recognition of the many talented people who work in the genre.”

Search more roles
Contact News Desk

Contact the news desk
Stories, corrections and responses only please.
Please note, this is not for comments.

Purpose of message *
Your Name *
Your Email *
Your message *
Alternatively, call 020 7403 1818,
select option 2 (editorial) followed by option 1 (news desk).

Also in News