Edinburgh’s If.Comedy Awards shortlist announced

Nominations have been announced for the 2007 If.Comedy Awards – the Edinburgh Festival Fringe prizes formerly known as the Perriers.

Andrew Lawrence, last year a nominee for Best Newcomer, this summer makes the list for the full award. He is joined by Andrew Maxwell, Brendon Burns, Pappy’s Fun Club and Ivan Brackenbury’s Hospital Radio Roadshow.

Meanwhile, Jon Richardson, Micky Flanagan, Tom Basden and Zoe Lyons will compete for the Best Newcomer Award. A special panel prize will also be announced, together with the winners of the other two categories at a special ceremony on August 25.

Awards director Nica Burns commented: “What a fantastic year! This exciting shortlist was chosen after an extremely lively debate amongst the judging panel. Three completely different stand-ups – Edinburgh regulars Andrew Maxwell and Brendon Burns and last year’s newcomer, Andrew Lawrence; a terrific sketch show in Pappy’s Fun Club and perfect Edinburgh character comedy from Ivan Brackenbury’s Hospital Radio Roadshow. The Newcomer’s shortlist was even more hotly contested, with a number of promising first-time solo shows.”

Search more roles
Contact News Desk

Contact the news desk
Stories, corrections and responses only please.
Please note, this is not for comments.

Purpose of message *
Your Name *
Your Email *
Your message *
Alternatively, call 020 7403 1818,
select option 2 (editorial) followed by option 1 (news desk).

Also in News